Mercury

At eighty the doctor was mercury.
Now I have reached erbium state

To go on to being silver and gold,
God willing in stomach and heart.

I and doctor are in our elements
As we progress through numbers.

Of course progress is God willing
God, in his numberless elements.

Doctor was glad he was not dead
If dead you couldn’t be mercury.

I  too am grateful for God willing.
At erbium I look forward to gold.

I am grateful I am not still dead.
Doctor was Bismuth when dead

Wishing to be no more element.
It is so exhausting to be element.

(remembering Dr.Oliver Sacks on Gratitude)

Leave a Reply

